Aphaia

This week I have been…

2 Comments

Friday – Monday

Spent the Weekend at Scottish S’s, it was cold, it was snowy and it was great fun.  I fell in a snowdrift and managed to walk up the big hill, although I did need numerous breaks on the way up (unhealthy? moi?….oh hell yeah).

Tuesday

Had a german class…the fun never stops!

Wednesday

Met people for coffee (caffeine is fun), and then joy of joys a tutorial class.  Trying to get first year students to talk in a seminar setting is near impossible.  Imagine the scenario:

Me: So what do you think of how archaeological sites are discovered?

Class: *silence*

Me: Anyone?

Class: *silence….stare at walls, table, ceiling etc.*

Me: Right, if you lot don’t start talking I’m going to pick on individuals and make them talk.

Class: *sudden explosion of talking*

You get the picture.  After that it was departmental and Hellenic society seminars.  Amazingly the dept. one had stuff which could be applied to my PhD which was rather a nice surprise.

Thursday -Friday

Dig! Again with the heavy shovelling of soil.  And I managed to drop a wheel barrow on my knee…I know it sounds strange but I fell over into the spoil heap and wheel barrow followed…I know have an interesting bruise on my knee.

Saturday

Spent morning in agony from aforementioned dig…..bits of me hurt that I didn’t know existed.  Then I ate my tea…then assisted my flatmate eat his tea.  Then we got beers and played pool and monopoly and cards….drinking lots of beer and sambuca – hic!

2 thoughts on “This week I have been…

  1. Carrot Cake
    In a large bowl beat:
    1 cup apple puree (baby food works)
    1/2 cup oil
    2 cups sugar
    Add 4 eggs & blend.
    In another bowl, sift together:
    2 cups flour
    1 tsp salt
    2 tsp cinnamon
    2 tsp baking soda
    2 tsp baking powder
    Add in 1 cup of chopped nuts or sultanas if desired.
    Blend into large bowl of wet ingredients.
    Add 3 cups of grated carrots, small amounts at a time.
    Turn into large tube pan, or 2-3 paper lined cake tins
    Bake at 300-350 (150-175) for 30+ minutes (tube pan takes an hour).
    Serve with apple puree, cream cheese icing, or just a dusting of icing sugar.

Leave a Reply

