Aphaia

GSoY 2012: Design Competition

Leave a comment

And the first post of November.

One of the various events at GSoY is the design competition. Last year the theme was Charles Rennie Mackintosh. This year it was a bit different. This year it was Glasgow itself, focusing primarily on the motto and coat of arms of the city. This seemed pretty cool, so figured I should give it a go.

Obviously, this was knitting on a deadline. So it had to be something which fitted the brief and could be completed by the closing date. So what did I do… I decide to knit a blanket… a colourwork blanket. See what I did.  Made things complicated (especially when I spilt red wine on it while it was half done – not recommended!). But it got finished, and  – drumroll please – won both first place in the design competition and also won the People’s Choice award!

I also put in a second design, for a simple shawlette with lots of ruffles but based on bird’s wings. That one was rather overshadowed but I still like it.

The plan now is to work on getting both patterns written up and published. The blanket is nearly ready to go, but I want to rework the shawl a bit – I see a lot of test knitting in my future!

Leave a Reply

