Aphaia

Writer’s Block… Only with Knitting

Leave a comment

For some strange reason I finished off the end of 2012, and to a lesser extent the start of 2013, on a knitting buzz. Several items were finished – some large, some small (I haven’t blogged about most of these yet). Ideas for designs have been brewing in my head. I’ve agreed to do a test-knit of a cosy cowl for a friend. My stash is organised. I have sorted my favourites, my queue and my pattern library on Ravelry. I’ve thought about patterns I’d like to knit with handspun – and subsequently which fibres in my stash would work for which projects, what weight I should aim for and the required yardages. Sounds good doesn’t it?

Except…

I haven’t knitted anything since Sunday. I haven’t been able to focus. I want to knit. I want to spin. I just don’t know where to start.

I tried casting on the test-knit cowl last night. My first choice of yarn had insufficient yardage. So I frogged it. Tried casting it on today using two shades of that yarn, no luck as the colours just didn’t mesh with the pattern / garter stitch. More frogging. I’m wondering what to use instead. I have three other alternatives. Two of which I have in mind for other projects, one which is completely free but will need to be either dyed beforehand or overdyed when finished. I know fine well that I’ll knit it with the ‘free’ one, but I’ll have to go and find it and wind it up before I can start knitting, and at the end it’ll have to be dyed… and that just seems terribly pro-active (despite the yarn only being in the room next door, the needles at my feet along with any other supplies I need and the dyeing stuff all in the kitchen).

The same can be said for blogging, I have a pile of posts / post ideas that I need to just write and publish. And yet again – I’m staring a computer screen thinking that it seems like something which can wait a little longer.

Procrastination – I have it down to a fine art.

So with the aim of getting out of this procrastinating fug, I’m off to go and knit something else. Just to get back into the swing of things…

Leave a Reply

